Birthday Girl by Haruki Murakami – review

Published by Vintage Publication date – 24 January 2019 Source – own copy She waited on tables as usual that day, her twentieth birthday. She always worked Fridays, but if things had gone according to plan on that particular Friday, she would have had the night off. One rainy Tokyo night, a waitress’s uneventful twentieth…

Under the Reader’s Radar – celebrating the quiet novel

There are thousands upon thousands of books published each year. Only a small percentage of those make it to the best-seller list. That doesn’t mean that the rest aren’t worthy of reading. It may be that they are written by self-published authors who don’t have the marketing knowledge or a small independent publisher who doesn’t…

Patricia MacDonald – Q&A

Patricia MacDonald is the author of The Girl in the Woods, which was published by Black Thorn Books on 4 July 2019. Patricia kindly answered a few of my questions. 1. Tell us a little about The Girl in the Woods. This suspense novel concerns a young woman named Blair who has escaped her unhappy…

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan – Review

Published by Mulholland Books Publication date – 13 August 2015 Source – own copy Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could…

The Vintage Girl by Hester Browne – review

Published by Quercus Publication date -13 February  2014 Source – own copy When Evie Nicholson is asked to visit Kettlesheer Castle in Scotland to archive the family heirlooms, she jumps at the chance. Evie’s passion for antiques means that, for her, the castle is a treasure trove of mysteries just waiting to be uncovered. But…

T. J. Gorton – Q&A

T. J. Gorton is the author of Renaissance Emir. His latest book, Only the Dead: A Levantine Tragedy, is published by Quartet Books on 27 June 2019. T.J. kindly answered a few of my questions. 1. Tell us a little about Only the Dead. A young man comes of age in Aleppo, Syria (at the…

Under the Reader’s Radar – celebrating the quiet novel

There are thousands upon thousands of books published each year. Only a small percentage of those make it to the best-seller list. That doesn’t mean that the rest aren’t worthy of reading. It may be that they are written by self-published authors who don’t have the marketing knowledge or a small independent publisher who doesn’t…

Murder in the Snow by Gladys Mitchell – review

Published by Vintage Publication date – 2 November 2017 Source – review copy Mrs Bradley, sharp-eyed detective and celebrated psychiatrist, has decided to spend Christmas with her nephew at his beautiful house in the Cotswolds. It isn’t long before a mystery unfolds. There are strange events occurring in the nearby wood and local villagers are…

Hannah Fielding – Q&A

Hannah Fielding is the author of numerous novels including The Echoes of Love, Burning Embers and Indiscretion. Her latest novel, Concerto, was published by London Wall Publishing on 6 June 2019. Hannah kindly answered a few of my questions. 1. Tell us a little about Concerto. Concerto is a sensual and romantic story of lost…