The Three – Sarah Lotz – review

Hodder & Stoughton “They’re here … The boy. The boy watch the boy watch the dead people oh Lordy there’s so many … They’re coming for me now. We’re all going soon. All of us. Pastor Len warn them that the boy he’s not to??– The last words of Pamela May Donald (1961 – 2012)…

The Golden Egg – Donna Leon – review

Arrow   “A local deaf-mute man has been found dead and an empty bottle of pills points to suicide. Fearing the case may be more sinister than at first it seems, Brunetti investigates further. But who is the dead man? And why is his life so mysterious? Brunetti’s search for the truth leads him into…

Alison Littlewood – Q&A

Today Alison Littlewood, author of A Cold Season, Path of Needles and The Unquiet House talks about inspiration, getting published and her reading habits. 1. Your new novel The Unquiet House was published on 10th April. What’s it about? The Unquiet House is a ghost story set in a rather dour corner of Yorkshire, following the fates…

Swimming Upstream – Ruth Mancini Blog Tour

Today Ruth Mancini stops by as part of her Swimming Upstream blog tour and kindly answers a few of my questions. 1. Tell us about Swimming Upstream, what’s it about and where did you get the inspiration to write it? I wrote the first draft of “Swimming Upstream” twenty years ago after a painful relationship…

A Little Love – Amanda Prowse

Head of Zeus Paperback edition 3 July 2014, ebook out now. “Everybody needs a little love in their lives… Pru Plum is the celebrated owner of a famous Mayfair bakery. She wears Chanel and her hair is expensively cut. Few would believe that this elegant woman turned sixty-six last year. But Pru is not the…

How to be a Good Wife – Emma Chapman

Picador   “‘I know what my husband would say: that I have too much time on my hands; that I need to keep myself busy. That I need to take my medication. Empty nest syndrome, he tells his friends at the pub, his mother. He’s always said I have a vivid imagination.’ In How To Be…

It Felt Like A Kiss – Sarra Manning – review

Corgi   “Ellie Cohen is living her dream. A great job at an exclusive Mayfair art gallery, loyal mates, loving family, and really, really good hair. Well, there’s the famous rock-star father who refuses to acknowledge her and a succession of ‘challenging’ boyfriends, but nobody’s perfect.  But when a vengeful ex sells Ellie out to…

The Investigation – Jung-Myung Lee – Review

Mantle   “At once a captivating mystery and an epic lament for freedom and humanity in the darkest of times, The Investigation – inspired by a true story – is a sweeping, gripping tale perfect for fans of The Shadow of the Wind. Fukuoka Prison, 1944. Beyond the prison walls the war rages; inside a man is found…

Guilt – Jonathan Kellerman – Review – Blog Tour

Headline   “When a series of horrifying events occurs in the same upscale LA neighbourhood, homicide detective Milo Sturgis calls on psychologist Alex Delaware  to help link the eerie incidents. But even Alex’s vast experience might not be enough to draw out the distrubing truth of this chilling case. Alex little imagines the decadent quagmire…

Murder – Sarah Pinborough – Review

Jo Fletcher Books   “Dr Thomas Bond, Police Surgeon, is still recovering from the events of the previous year when Jack the Ripper haunted the streets of London – and a more malign enemy hid in his shadow. Bond and the others who worked on the gruesome case are still stalked by its legacies, both…