The Best of Me – Nicholas Sparks – Review

Sphere

isbn9780751542974-detail

“They were teenage sweethearts from opposite sides of the tracks – with a passion that would change their lives for ever. But life would force them apart.

Years later, the lines they had drawn between past and present are about to slip . . . Called back to their hometown for the funeral of the mentor who once gave them shelter when they needed it most, they are faced with each other once again, and forced to confront the paths they chose. Can true love ever rewrite the past?

This is the new epic love story from the multi-million-copy bestselling author of The Notebook, The Lucky One and The Last Song. Nicholas Sparks is one of the world’s most beloved authors.”

2.5/3 of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the publishers and this is my honest opinion.

Dawson and Amanda were teenage sweethearts, torn apart by the prejudices of Amanda’s parents and fuelled by Dawson’s own family. Their lives have taken them on different paths but they are drawn together again when they return home for the funeral of the man who had taken Dawson in when no one else would.

This was the first Nicholas Sparks novel I have read and I wasn’t sure what to expect. I have of course heard of his other best selling novels but for some reason never picked one up.

I found this an ambivalent read, it was neither bad nor good. In fact I’ve wavered over my rating in that I didn’t to give it a low rating, nor did I want to over rate it. I didn’t really connect with any of the characters. I felt Dawson was the only really rounded character in that Nicholas Sparks seemed to spend more time initially introducing him to us. This perhaps was to the detriment of the other characters who felt a bit two dimensional sometimes to be fully engaging. There were some parts of the novel I was engaged in, then others were I was skim reading so it felt a bit disjointed to me at times.

The plot itself was OK, though I had guessed what would happen a long time before it did. I can however see how it would be a popular read. If you like Nicholas Sparks then I’m sure you won’t want to miss this, and you’ll be in a better position that I to judge how it compares to his other works.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. shazjera says:

    I’m with you on this Janet. I’ve read a couple of Nicholas Sparks and they didn’t leave an impression as I’ve seen with the majority of other readers. This is an author (for me) that I won’t be reading again. I found the stories predictable and didn’t connect with the characters.

    Great balanced review.

    Shaz

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      I think it’s harder to review a book you don’t have strong feelings for than one you definitely like or loathe. Interesting that we both feel the same, but good to know 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

