Cover Reveal – Appleby Farm series by Cathy Bramley

Today I’m pleased to reveal the covers for the new series by Cathy Bramley, author of Ivy Lane. This series of four ebooks is a spin-off series and Cathy has this to say about them “After I finished writing Ivy Lane earlier this year, my editor asked me if I’d consider a spin-off series, taking…

Falling – Emma Kavanagh – review

Arrow “A brilliant debut psychological thriller by a former police psychologist. Perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson. A plane falls out of the sky. A woman is murdered. Four people all have something to hide. Jim is a retired police officer, and worried father. His beloved daughter has disappeared…

Aven Ellis on Beta Readers

As part of the Behind the Book series, Aven Ellis, author of Connectivity and Waiting for Prince Harry tells us about how she uses Beta readers when writing. A year has now passed since I published my debut novel, Connectivity. I’ve learned so much about the industry in these past 12 months, and this is…

The Lying Down Room – Anna Jaquiery – review

Mantle “The first instalment in a stunning debut crime series, set in Paris and featuring Chief Inspector Serge Morel At night Armand lay in bed with a sadness in his heart that ballooned until there was room for nothing else. He thought with horror of the lying-down room . . . Paris; in the stifling…

John Harding – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome to the blog John Harding, author of What We Did On Our Holiday, While the Sun Shines, One Big Damn Puzzler, Florence and Giles and The Girl Who Couldn’t Read. John kindly answered some of my questions 1. Tell us a little about The Girl Who Couldn’t read. It’s set in an asylum, a mental hospital, on…

Ros Schwartz/Arcadia – translation special

Today I am pleased to share a fantastic interview with translator Ros Schwartz and Karen Sullivan from the publishers Arcadia who discuss the fabulous and often unsung work done by translators who help introduce us all to the wonderful world of foreign language fiction.   Ros – What process do you go through when you…

The Bone Seeker – M.J. McGrath – Review

Mantle “The stunning new Arctic-set Edie Kiglatuk mystery from the author of White Heat Summer in the High Arctic. When young Inuit Martha Salliaq goes missing from her settlement, her teacher, ex Polar Bear Hunter Edie Kiglatuk enlists her police friend Derek Palliser to help search for the girl. But once a body is discovered…

A Dark and Twisted Tide – Sharon Bolton – Review

Bantam Press “Former DC Lacey Flint has quit the force for a safer, quieter life. Living alone on her houseboat, she is trying to get over the man she loves, undercover detective Mark Joesbury. But Mark is missing in action and impossible to forget. And danger won’t leave Lacey alone…. Because someone is watching her…

Tom Fletcher – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome author Tom Fletcher to the blog. Tom kindly agreed to answer a few of my questions so here we go.. 1. Tell us a little about Gleam. Gleam the place: it looks like a broken skull, and nobody knows what it’s for. A hexagonal black pyramid rises from its centre,…

Like This, Forever – Sharon Bolton – Review

Corgi “Twelve-year-old Barney Roberts is obsessed with a series of murders. He knows the victims are all boys, just like him. He knows the bodies were found on river banks. And he’s sure the killer will strike again soon. But there’s something else, a secret he’d rather not know, a secret he is too scared…

Dead Scared – Sharon Bolton – Review

Bantam Press/Corgi “A series of suicides. Each one a female university student. Each one more horrifying than the last. The police know it cannot be coincidence. But they can’t prove it. They need someone to go undercover. A young policewoman, as vulnerable as the others. As unprepared for the nightmare that will greet her. Watch…