The Snow Globe – Sheila Roberts – Review

Piatkus

isbn9780349407395-detail

“Heartwarming Christmas romance from an NYT and USA Today bestselling author

Discover an unforgettable holiday treasure in Sheila Roberts’ heartwarming tale of love and laughter, magic and miracles, friendship and coming home . . .

When Kiley Gray discovers an enchanting snow globe in an antique shop, she has no idea how much her life is about to change. For years, the snow globe has passed from generation to generation, somehow always landing in the hands of a person in special need of a Christmas miracle.

Kiley could use a miracle herself. This year, all she wants for Christmas is someone to love. A hopeful shake leads her on an adventure that makes a believer out of her. When Kiley shares the story of the snow globe with her best friends-two women with problems of their own-they don’t believe it. But they’re about to discover that at Christmastime, sometimes the impossible becomes possible and miracles really do come true.


Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Marie Force and Nora Roberts, this is a gentle, romantic Christmas story that’s sure to capture your heart and leave you with a smile”

3 of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the publishers and this is my honest opinion of the book.

Kiley is at an impasse with life. Her boyfriend has left her and she’s without a job. The last thing she should be doing is buying expensive fripperies like snow globes. But when she spots it in a little store and here’s the story behind it, she buys it, little believing it could have a magical effect on her own life.

This is a short little novella, only 166 and is a nice light Christmas read. The story focusses first on Kiley, then on her friends Suzanne and Allison. I preferred Kiley’s story and would have enjoyed seeing more. Without giving any of the stories away I felt Kiley’s story could have been stretched out and elaborated on more, which would have made this book a bit more rounded and complete. Suzanne’s story, of her being unable to spend more time at home and the desperate desire of her child to have a dog was a light-hearted tale and probably just the right length. To be honest I backed Suzanne up on her stance of no puppy for a 5 year olds Christmas gift so was willing her not to cave in! I felt that Allison’s story never really got off the ground and was wrapped up too quickly to be anything other than a passing scene in the book, rather than her own story.

There are some references which were lost on me as they were very much regarding US Christmas traditions. However it was a pleasant enough read to get me in the seasonal spirit.

Advertisements

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds like a lovely seasonal read.

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      It’s a short sweet read, and does get into the Christmas spirit 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s