Oi, Frog by Kes Gray and Jim Field – Review

Published by Hodder Children’s Books

Publication date – 5 February 2015

Source – own copy

isbn9781444910865-detail

“A wonderfully funny rhyming story with laugh-out-loud illustrations from an award-winning team.

From the award-winning Kes Gray and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, comes an hilarious rhyming tale about a frog who discovers that all animals have their special places to sit!

Cats sit on mats, hares sit on chairs, mules sit on stools and gofers sit on sofas, but Frog does not want to sit on a log! Jam-packed with animals and silliness, this original rhyming story will have young children in fits of laughter.”

5 of 5 stars

One of the key things I look for when I’m buying new children’s books is that its a story I won’t mind reading repeatedly. As anyone who has ever read to a child will tell you, its very rare that you get away with reading a story only once. So its lucky I came across Oi, Frog, having seen it mentioned on Twitter.

This is a story of a frog learning exactly where he’s allowed to sit. Poor Frog wants to sit down but Cat tells him he can only sit on a log. Cat then proceeds to tell him where different types of animals must sit.

This is an extremely entertaining book. It had us laughing out loud, and by us I mean three generations; my daughter, myself and her grandparents were soon chuckling away. Each time we read it she giggled away to the story and shouted out the ending with glee.  It is full of lovely rhymes that lend it a musical lilt and mean that the flow of the story is pitch perfect. My daughter soon picked the book up and was ‘reading’ the story to herself, following the illustrations. And Jim Field has done a fantastic job illustrating this tale. The pictures jump off the page. The haughtiness of Cat and the confusion of Frog is obvious and each animal and their ‘seat’ is a joy to look at.

Rarely I come across a book I wish I’d written. This one of them. You can see what fun Kes Gray and Jim Field must have had when creating this gem.

I said at the beginning of this review that one of the keys to a good children’s book is not minding the need to re-read. Well this one I had to re-read four times on the day it arrived in the house and I wish I could have got away with reading it again. I had to stop my daughter taking it to nursery for fear it would be lost. It’s been here one day at the time of writing this review and it’s already a firm favourite. Luckily I’ve two younger children so I get to read it for a while longer yet.

I’m on the hunt for more books by Kes Gray and Jim Field. Until then I’ll just have to read Oi, Frog again. ‘Oi, Frog!’ ‘Sit on a Log’….

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

