One to watch – The Widow by Fiona Barton

I’m introducing a new feature to the blog – One to Watch. Here I will be highlighting some books that I think will be highlights of the book year once they are released. Of course I’m no expert so you’ll not have to take my word for – you’ll have to read the books for yourself 🙂

The inaugural One to Watch is The Widow by Fiona Barton

9780593076217-large

“Jean Taylor is the wife of a man labelled a monster.

Glen Taylor was accused of heinous crimes, implicated in the disappearance of two-year-old Bella Elliot, snatched from her front garden four years ago. But now he’s dead and Jean Taylor is finally ready to tell her story.

For the reporter who has secured the exclusive interview, this is the scoop of a lifetime. For the detective who has lived a half-life since he failed to get justice for the lost little girl, it is a chance to uncover the truth that has eluded him for so long.

It’s time. Jean Taylor is going to tell us what she knows. “

I was lucky to pick up a very early proof copy of this at the Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival. Out in Spring 2016 from Transworld books I can see this book being one of the big hits of the year.

Jean Taylor has just been widowed. Her husband, Glen, was involved in a terrible accident. Instead of being left alone to grieve Jean is the centre of press attention. Why? Because Glen was the object of a major police investigation and now that he’s gone everyone wants to know the real story. And they think that Jean is the one to share it.

Told with a number of voices, led by the widow herself, Fiona Barton soon draws the reader into the story.

This is a story laying bear the modern day phenomena of trial by media, the public’s demand for blood and for the knowledge of ‘the wife’ really does know. Less a ‘whodunit’ this is more of a ‘did he do it’. And if you are anything like me you’ll find yourself racing through the pages to find out.

My full review will be posted closer to publication date. But take my advice – add it to your wishlist.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Karen says:

    This is a great idea Janet. I saw this book mentioned the other week and put it on my wishlist, I really want to read this one.

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Thanks Karen. I was eager to say a little something about it even though I have to hold off my review until closer to publication. I’ll be interested to see what you think of it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

