Loved Up – Katey Lovell talks about her favourite romantic reads

Today’s Loved Up post is from author Katey Lovell, whose Meet Cute series is being published by Harper Impulse. Here Katey talks about her favourite romantic reads. My thanks to Katey for such a great post.

I absolutely love romance.  I love to read it, write it, watch it … basically I can’t get enough of it.  As a teen I devoured the books in romance series’ such as Sweet Dreams and Point Romance, and as an adult not much has changed.  It’s not the only thing I read, but it’s a genre I’ll return to again and again.

Here are a few of my favourite romantic reads – and I can tell you now, it wasn’t easy to choose!

Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

I can’t help it.  The rough and rugged Edward Rochester is irresistible to me, and as such I’ll always put Jane Eyre in any list of bookish recommendations.  And it is a classic romance, maybe not a perfect or conventional one, but the sort of story that twists your gut with the feeling it evokes.  If you’ve never read it, you really must.

Somewhere Only We Know – Erin Lawless

This book was only published earlier this year, but it’s already forged a space among my favourite books of all time.  The story of Nadia, appealing for the right to remain in the UK, and immigration department worker Alex, it’s got the perfect balance between humour and heart.  Somewhere Only We Know is crammed full of both friendship and romance, a wonderfully heartwarming read from an up and coming British author.

Letters to the Lost – Iona Grey

Another recent release, Letters to the Lost is the story of Dan and Stella’s love during WWII.  It’s a bittersweet read, but I think you’d have to have a heart of glass not to be moved by their plight.  This is a beautifully written debut novel which will tug on your heartstrings and have you reaching for your hankies.

There are so many more authors I could recommend and I’ve reviewed hundreds of books on my blog, www.bookswithbunny.blogspot.co.uk, but these are three stand-out romance novels which I know I’ll return to again and again.  I hope you love them as much as I do!

Katey Lovell is the author of The Meet Cute Series.  Her short stories The Boy in the Bookshop released 29th October 2015, The Boy at the Beach released 5th November 2015 and The Boy at the Bakery released 12th November 2015, are published by Harper Collins digital-first romance imprint Harper Impulse.  They are available for pre order now.

untitled2untitled3untitled1

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Nook

Kobo

Bio

untitled

Katey Lovell is fanatical about words. An avid reader, writer and poet, she once auditioned for Countdown and still tapes the show every night. Getting the conundrum before the contestants is her ultimate thrill. She loves love and strives to write feel-good romance that’ll make you laugh and cry in equal measure.  Originally from South Wales, Katey now lives in Yorkshire with her husband and their seven year old son.

Find Katey on twitter, @katey5678.

Leave a Reply

