Get Shorties – celebrating short stories and novellas

This week I have a series of posts celebrating the underrated short story and novella. I’ll be the first to admit that before I started reviewing and blogging short stories and novellas barely registered on my reading landscape. I often thought what’s the point of reading something so short. However I’ve quickly come to realise there is joy to be found in the shorter piece of fiction. Also I’ve become more aware that in order for short stories and novellas to be good, the writer needs to be skilled in brevity, of being able to tell the story, grip the reader and not sell the characters and plot short, all within a limited word count.

Short stories and novellas are great break or lunch time reads, a quick visit to another world and a great way of entertaining.

Let me know if you like short stories and novellas and what your favourites are.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I sometimes struggle with short stories as feel I want more but as you’ve said, the author has to be incredibly skilled to pack a punch!
    Recently I’ve really enjoyed Beneath The Bonfire by Nickolas Butler and American Housewife by Helen Ellis which I devoured in one go!

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      I’ve not read either of those so I’ll have to check them out. I think my favourite collection to date is Red Room, an anthology inspired by the Brontes. There is a story in there that still stays with me.

      Like

  2. I’ve spent many years telling people I’m not a short story fan but looking back over this year’s blogging I’ve reviewed several collections and have another one in the works. It looks like I’ve been won over!

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      I was like you, but they’ve slowly crept into my reading lists. I’ve loved your reviews of the previous collections you’ve read so I’m looking forward to the next one 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, Janet. Coincincentally, there’ll be another one on Friday

        Like

  3. shazjera says:

    I have read some anthologies and do enjoy novellas. It is a skill – agree with you totally Janet!

    I have a fab book of short stories lined up for my Samhain read. I think if I was a commuter I would probably read more …

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      I’ll look out for your review once it’s posted 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love both writing & reading short stories have built up quite a collection and love them to dip into for a short fix.

    Great to see them being celebrated.

    I’ve started to read far more novellas too – in particular the ones from Peirene as translated and often incredible reads.

    Behind the scenes at poppypeacockpens I’m plotting a novella challenge for November so will keep you posted.

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      I’ve only read one Peirene book so far though I have a few to read but I’m a big fan of theirs. I’m hoping to go to a talk they are hosting in Sheffield soon. I’m also having a Peirene feature week soon.

      I’ll keep a look out for your novella feature, I’m looking forward to reading it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh… would love to make the Sheffield event… will watch out for your feature week too 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

