Get Shorties – Katey Lovell on her Meet Cute short story series

In the final short story related post Katey Lovell talks about the ideas behind her ‘Meet Cute’ series, published by Harper Impulse. My thanks to Katey for her great guest post

On the whole people are very supportive of my writing, which is wonderful.  Family cheer me on, friends say they’re excited to read my work and I’m sure the thrill I get from writing ‘The End’ when completing my story is the same as that of writers the world over.

  I’ve been writing short stories for as long as I can remember.  Obviously I wrote them at school, but it became more of an obsession than a hobby outside of school too.  I’d spend hours making up characters and putting them into crazy situations, then as I got older I wrote stories about Take That.  Fanfiction didn’t have a name back then, but I’d spend far too long writing romances about sharing an ice cream with Howard or going to a Port Vale game with Robbie.  

  The years of practice must have paid off, because on October 29th my short story The Boy in the Bookshop is being released by Harper Impulse, the digital-first romance imprint at Harper Collins.  It’s the first story in The Meet Cute series and shares the moment Jade, an introvert who works in a second hand bookstore and Marwan, who’s browsing the shelves for classics, meet for the first time.

  I know some readers find short stories frustrating because the very nature of them (i.e., they’re short!) means they’re often left with questions or loose ends.  Bloggers and reviewers find them difficult because it’s more of a challenge to talk about them without giving away every detail of the plot.

  Yet there’s a definite rise in the number of people reading short stories.  

  Commuters.  

  Coffee break readers.  

  Those reading on mobile phones.  

  People with only small pockets of quiet/free time, but who are still keen to read.  

This is what gives short stories such a wide appeal.  You don’t have to commit the hours needed to read a novel to be immersed in a different time or place; you can enjoy a quick fix of escapism in just ten or fifteen minutes.

  When asked to pitch The Meet Cute series I described it as “the ‘Once Upon a Time’ before the ‘Happily Ever After’”.  The stories focus on the pivotal moment a couple get together, the rest is up to your imagination.  I hope what I’ve written makes you believe it could be the start of forever for these couples, because in my mind I’m certain these are only their beginnings.

untitled2untitled3untitled1

The Boy in the Bookshop is released on 29th October 2015, published by Harper Impulse, followed by The Boy at the Beach on 5th November 2015 and The Boy at the Bakery on 12th November 2015.  They are available for pre order now.

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Nook

Kobo

About the Author

untitled

Katey Lovell is fanatical about words. An avid reader, writer and poet, she once auditioned for Countdown and still tapes the show every night. Getting the conundrum before the contestants is her ultimate thrill. She loves love and strives to write feel-good romance that’ll make you laugh and cry in equal measure.  Originally from South Wales, Katey now lives in Yorkshire with her husband and their seven year old son.

Find Katey on twitter, @katey5678.

Leave a Reply

