Jason Starr – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome author Jason Starr to the blog. Jason’s latest novel, Savage Lane, was published by No Exit Press on 22 October 2015. Jason kindly answered a few of my questions.

1. Tell us a little about Savage Lane. 

It’s a dark domestic thriller/satire about a group of suburbanites in a community north of New York City. The main character is a recently divorced woman who is the subject of delusional fantasies of the married man down the road. She also becomes a murder suspect and the target of a twisted psychopath, so there are lots of fun twists and turns. It’s the type of novel that has appeal for women and men.

2.  You are also well known for your work which has appeared in Marvel Comics and your novel Ant-man: Natural Enemy has just been made into a film starring Paul Rudd and Michael Douglas. There is obviously a lot of variety in your writing. Do you find it easy to switch between the genres and are there any similarities you’ve noticed as you write?

Actually my Ant-Man novel is loosely based on the film, though it does tie in. It was a blast to write Ant-Man, as well as write Wolverine, Punisher and Batman comics, working with such iconic characters. I also love the collaboration in comics, with the artists, editors etc. It’s so different from novel writing, which is very solitary. So I love going back and forth. While comics is an image driven medium, it still comes down to plotting and storytelling so there are similarities for sure. That said, writing for comics is probably more similar to screenwriting.

3. After having a prolific writing career is there anything that still surprises you about the writing and publishing process?

Every publishing experience I’ve had has been different so there are always surprises. Also the industry has gone through so many changes, what with the proliferation of ebooks, that a lot of publishers themselves are in uncharted territory. I was pleasantly surprised recently when my German publisher announced they were printing 10,000 advance copies of SAVAGE LANE. It’s nice when the surprises work in your favour!

4. Are you a plan, plan, plan writer or do you sit down and see where the words take you? How long does the process take you from first line to completed novel? 

I always plan. I would fear I would get stuck if I didn’t know where a story’s going. But I have an evolving outline; I change it as I go along.

5. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life which book would it be?

Ulysses, because it would take me forever to finish it.

6. I like to end my Q&A’s with the same question so here we go. What question have you not been asked that you wish had been asked – and what’s the answer? 

How do you feel about social media?

I’m one of those writers who love it. I’m very active on Twitter @jasonstarrbooks and enjoy interacting with readers. I began my writing career as a playwright, and in theater you always get to see the audience response–social media provides this experience for authors. So if you check out SAVAGE LANE follow me online and I would love to hear what you think!

Thanks for answering my questions and appearing on the blog.

About the book

Savage Lane_Outer3b

“Life is sublime in the idyllic suburb of New York City. Recent divorcee, Karen Daily and her two kids have for the first time in years found joy as they settle into the close-knit community of Savage Lane. Neighbours, Mark and Deb Berman, have been so supportive as she moves on in life: teaching at the local school and even dating again.

But behind pristine houses and perfect smiles lie dark motives far more sinister than Karen could have ever imagined. Unknown to her, Mark, trapped in his own unhappy marriage, has developed a rich fantasy life for the two of them. And as rumours start to spread, it seems that he isn’t the only one targeting Karen…”

 

Leave a Reply

