TBR Book Tag

TBR Book Tag

I was tagged by Naomi Frisby over at The Writes of Woman and having seen this on a number of blogs including Marina Sofia’s Finding Time to Write. Having written it all down, I’ve just confirmed to myself what I already know – the TBR is slightly out of control and has a life of its own!

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

I don’t, which is why its rather out of control. I didn’t track it, then I started to do a spreadsheet like I’d heard bloggers I admire do (proper bloggers, not the amateur like me!) Then I let it get away with me again. I’m determined to create a proper record and reading schedule next year. And to stick to it.

Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?

Mainly print books. The main reason for this is I have a tendancy to forget about the ebooks I have which is such a shame, and something I feel very guilty about. I’m hoping to do a stint of just ebook reading to clear some backlog. Also I tend to pass my books on to my mum and she only reads print books.

How do you determine which books from your TBR to read next?

I try to go by publication date order but sometimes I just have to go by the book I feel like reading at that moment. I’ve found that if I read a book because it’s due to be read or has been outstanding for a while it can cause me to feel slightly pressured and view the book slightly negatively, which isn’t fair on the author or the book. I’m trying to come round to the way of thinking that as long as I read the book when I want, even if it is after publication, and therefore give it ‘a fair go’ then that is better than forcing myself to read it or to try and give up half way through.

A book that has been on my TBR the longest?

I have absolutely no idea, though sadly there are a few that have been outstanding for a while. Though I do have a few that were proofs of hardback editions and we are now approaching the paperback editions. I suppose The Girl in the Red Coat and Our Endless Numbered Days are two of them but I plan on reading before the paperback versions are released. I also have a non fiction book – For Who the Bell Tolls that has been sat gathering dust for a shocking amount of time. I’m feeling quite ashamed of myself!

A book you recently added to your TBR?

I’ve just bought my mum 13 Guests by J Jefferson Farjeon so I’m guessing that will soon end up on my TBR as she gives me all of her books (and borrows far more from me J)

I’ve also just downloaded Shallow Grave by Rebecca Bradley and I have my eye on The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend and And Then There Were None. I’ve been told I’m not allowed any books for Christmas or my birthday as I’ve not read all of the ones I received last year. There’s still time to work on that though…

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

I don’t think I have one. I tend to look at the cover second if that makes sense. I’m lucky in that I get a few proofs. The covers of these tend to be different to the final version but I do often secretly prefer my proof version. That cover tends to be the one I associate the book with. However a cover that does standout is The Miniaturist. It is a work of art.

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

Well I don’t know if I won’t read it until I pick it up. I’d like to think I’d read everything but I know that is never likely to happen.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

It would have been The Trouble With Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon but I’ve read that and it lived up to my high expectations. The Ballroom by Anna Hope. It sounds so very appealing. I’m having to wait to read it as I have other books out before it. But then again a sneaky look won’t hurt…

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

The vast majority of them if I’m honest. I know that sounds like a get out but since I’ve started blogging most of my TBR has sprung from recommendations or reviews I’ve seen from other bloggers. They can be a persuasive bunch 🙂

A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you?

Oh I’ve a few of these. In a Dark, Dark Wood springs to mind as does A God in Ruins. Burnt Paper Sky, Our Endless Numbered Days, I could go on. But I won’t as the guilt at having them outstanding is mounting too!

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

All of them. My book eyes are bigger than my book belly! I really do want to read all of them and need to spend less time procrastinating on what to read next and more time just picking a book and reading. The TBR wouldn’t be that big then 🙂

How many books are on your TBR shelf?

I’ve no idea but there I’m guessing at least 200, though that’s a conservative estimate. I have a book case full to bursting and more boxes squirrelled away just with books I’ve still to read.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Loved reading this!

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Thanks Linda. It just confirmed what I already knew. I have too many books (of course there is no such thing as too many books)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. MarinaSofia says:

    Ha, ha, I love your observations: ‘my book eyes are bigger than my book belly’ and that if you read a book because it’s time/you feel you should/out of duty then you might judge it more harshly. Thanks for the kind mention as well.

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      You’re welcome. I do have a bit of an overactive appetite for books I think. But I can’t not get them, just in case I ever get the time to read everything 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Karen says:

    Great post Janet.

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Thanks Karen. I think I need to cull the TBR pile. I just need to find the courage to do so! 🙂

      Like

  4. Emma says:

    This all felt very familiar! My TBR list can be a source of great excitement but also of stress when it gets a bit overwhelming!

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Exactly. It’s a lovely position to have so much to read, but often knowing where to start can be the problem 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

