Reading Resolutions

Ok I may be a little early but I’m preparing myself for a new reading year. This year I’ve not read as many books as I would have liked (but then again I never do read as many as I’d hope to). I thought though, that as this year comes to an end it may be a good idea to set out some reading resolutions for 2016. No doubt I will break them all. The only question is, how long will it take?

1. Read more of my own books

By this I mean books I have bought. I tend to put these to one side in order to read review copies and then they sadly get left behind. I am in no way complaining about receiving proof copies. I don’t expect to receive any proof copy and truly do appreciate every one I get. But I feel (a self-imposed) pressure to read those before the ones I have bought for myself or have had given to me as gifts.Β Next year I intend to read more of these mixed in with any review copies I may be lucky enough to receive.

2. Not set a Goodreads challenge

Now I’ve taken this idea from an article I read via Twitter. I sadly can’t recall who it was by but a reader discussed why she hadn’t set a Goodreads target. She had her own reasons. As for mine, well again it seemed this year like another added pressure. Again it’s really not a big thing in the grand scheme of things but I was always conscious of the fact I was behind in the reading schedule. I then felt I needed to read faster so that I didn’t ‘fail’. There is nothing to fail at when it comes to reading. Its a personal choice, done, in the main, for pleasure and so shouldn’t be a chore. I’d like to see if taking away little things like a Goodreads challenge help make it more of the former and less of the latter. I will however still be setting my own reading ‘challenge’ though really its more like a geeky list. I like to make note of all the different places the books I read are set and try to vary it if possible.

3. Make sure my book eyes aren’t bigger than my book belly

I’ve come to the sad realisation that I can’t actually read every book I like the sound of, however much I may try. I therefore need to be a little bit more selective. I won’t be buying every book I ‘need’ to read, nor will I request every one. I don’t want any of the books I have to be left waiting to be read whilst I wade through the to read pile. Its not fair on authors and publishers who are waiting for reviews, not fair on me to feel overwhelmed and not fair to the books I’ve already got and not read.

4. Don’t feel like I have to read a book just because ‘everyone’ else has.

Its easy to get caught up in the furore over a new book. Its getting lots of rave reviews, bloggers you respect are raving about it and it seems to fill up your Twitter time line. I have been disappointed by books like this, probably because I’ve made them into something before I’ve even read it so have set myself up for disappointment. I’m vowing to not do this in 2016, or at least try not to. If a book sounds like I’d find it interesting then I’ll add it to the wishlist. If it doesn’t sound like my cup of tea then I probably won’t – even if the whole world is having a read-a-long. And I’ll stop feeling guilty if I don’t like a book everyone is raving about – or indeed if I love one that others don’t find particularly appealing. The beauty of books is that they are subjective. Every reader takes something different away from each book. And everyone’s opinions are valid.

5. Keep track of my books

When I started blogging I didn’t expect to receive or read so many books. The pile got away with me somewhat so I decided I better start a list. I opened up a spreadsheet, made a start, and then promptly forgot about it. I have good intentions of starting up the record keeping again but who knows how long that may last…

6. Stop procrastinating

I find I’m spending longer and longer on deciding my next read. I’ve decided to just pick up a book and read, unless for some reason I have agreed to read a book by a deadline. If I don’t happen to be in the mood for the one I have grabbed, I’ll set it to one side and pick another. This way hopefully the time spent picking a read can be better spent actually reading. Procrastination time also means less time spent on social media. That way I have more time for everything else.

7. Try to read all the proofs I may receive at least a week before publication

I aim to do this anyway but again sometimes my plans go awry. I have started as I mean to go on as I’ve read a number of January releases already. It will all depend on how many I have for that particular month I guess. And if I don’t get any proofs, which I certainly don’t assume to expect, then I can work my way through those I already have, and buy some more to replace them πŸ™‚

So there it is. How long I manage to keep to these resolutions is another matter but the good intentions are there.

20 Comments Add yours

  1. M. L. Kappa says:

    So many books, so little time…(I’m always repeating this) I think. Need to follow some of your tips

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Ha! I’m not sure I’ll end up following them for long but I shall try πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Some great advice here….love number 3
    Good luck with your resolutions πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Thanks. I’m not sure how long I’ll stick to them, especially as I read all the catalogues for the Toppling the TBR pile feature and realise how many great sounding books are due out! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you may have read my mind!

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Hehe. I have good intentions. Not sure how long they’ll last, I hope you do better than me πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I did Number 3 this year & felt like a heavy load had been lifted. Still only managed to dent my “own” book like by about 20 but every little helps! Not sure I can skip the Goodreads challenge as it helps me keep track of my “Read in 20xx” shelves. Good luck & great post!

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Thanks Tracey. 20 is good going :-). The Goodreads one is going to be hard as I’m already tempted but I’ll just have to keep track on the blog of what I’ve read πŸ™‚ Happy reading πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. tripfiction says:

    All intentions good! Well done.. it’s hard when there are so many books to tempt. I agree about the Reading Challenges, why impose pressure? And it’s a hard one when there are popular reads not to be able to join the conversations because one hasn’t read the book…Have a lovely 2016. Tina

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Yes, there’s that, and I’m not sure how I will feel about missing out. I guess that one is a bit more flexible if it fits in with my other reading I can away with reading a talked about book πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. MarinaSofia says:

    No. 3 is a big one for me as well, and I’m starting to get the hang of No. 4 I hope – very good resolutions indeed! Good luck to a fruitful and enjoyable reading 2016!

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Thanks. They are all well intentions, but as with most, how easy I’ll find it to stick to is anyone’s guess. I’ll just use the post as a reminder when I’m feeling swamped πŸ™‚ happy reading to you too!

      Like

  7. Sandra says:

    Great post! I didn’t manage my good reads challenge was 3 short but pretty impressed I managed to read 97 books this year!

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      97 is great! I’ve done about 83 but a lot of them were Children’s books so that may be cheating πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. I like these and totally agree with all of them Janet. I think I might actually not set a Goodreads challenge this coming year either because I failed this year due to a reading blip and it feels crappy but if it wasn’t set, I’ve still read a reasonable amount of books. Have a great 2016!

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      That’s the reason I was thinking of not doing one, I was finding Children’s books I hadn’t read before just so I could use them towards the target. Have a lovely 2016 too πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. Love this post Janet… so much resonates and I could, nay SHOULD, adopt all 7!
    I’ve spent a lot of time lately perusing my own TBR shelves and thinking about what I want to read next year but more importantly appreciate why… you’ve certainly given me some great points to consider😊

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Thanks Poppy. I hope you manage to wrangle your TBR into submission πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Some great resolutions Janet! I couldn’t manage now without my (fairly complex) spreadsheet for reading despite the endless ribbing I get about it! With so many books it is far too easy to lose track. While I’m not saying no to review copies this year, I do need to read some of the excellent books I own so a bit more of no. 3 is required.

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Thanks. I won’t turn down review copies is I get offered one that sounds appealing but I don’t want to request loads and end up not having time to read them. Hopefully I’ll get through enough of the backlog to ease the guilt πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

