Rebecca Bradley – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome Rebecca Bradley to the blog. Rebecca is the author of Shallow Waters and her latest novel Made to be Broken was published on 30 June 2016.

Rebecca kindly answered a few of my questions.

1. Tell us a little about Made to be Broken.

Made to be Broken is the second book in my DI Hannah Robbins series of police procedural crime novels. It starts six months after the end of Shallow Waters, the first in the series, and sees the team pitted against a killer determined to prove a point. 

2. Where did the inspiration come from for the book? 

I wanted to cover something that was feasible, that readers could read and believe this was possible, that yes, they could walk out their doors and this could happen. That is when it can become a little scarier, rather than mad axe men in shower scenes who are rarely a reality. But then I had to consider how it would work within the world I had created at the end of Shallow Waters, and a theme was created. So, it wasn’t so much inspiration as building blocks.  

3. Are you a plan, plan, plan writer or do you sit down and see where the words take you?  

I’m still very much at the stage of learning my craft and that includes finding my feet in how I write best. With Shallow Waters I sat down knowing how it started and how it was going to end but that was all and it was a long haul writing everything in between. With Made to be Broken I tried to work differently, planning more; writing a long winded synopsis. I enjoyed this process, it worked for me. So for book three I’m going to expand this even more by plotting out the individual chapters.

4. Made to be Broken is the second DI Hannah Robbins book. What did you learn from publishing Shallow Waters, the first novel and did it shape Made to be Broken? 

I had never written anything before starting writing Shallow Waters. I had to teach myself, reading writing blogs and books on writing. Being edited was a learning process. 

I also learned that the crime community is made up of a pretty awesome group of people. I learned that bloggers are the best. That readers and writers have some of the biggest hearts, and as long as we have a shared love of books then we are in it together. I found a home, a place I feel I belong and it’s comfortable. 

As for shaping Made to be Broken, yes, it definitely did. I made some pretty big decisions within the first book that reverberate throughout the second.

5. What do you do when you aren’t writing? What do you do to relax and get away from it all?

I like to walk my two dogs, cockapoo’s Alfie and Lola, read, and watch too much TV. Drama box sets. In the name of watching the story structure you understand! If we can, I like to go away for the weekend with my husband and actually get away from it all. It’s nice to switch off, because in reality, when you’re a writer working from home, you never really stop. For instance, I’m typing this at 11.30 p.m. on a Saturday night…

6. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life which book would it be? 

I think this has to be the most difficult question I have ever answered! Really, just one? Okay then… Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. As I put in my review, it was a book that without my noticing, gently reached in and touched my heart.

7. I like to end my Q&A’s with the same question so here we go. During the Q&As and interviews you’ve done before what question have you not been asked that you wish had been asked – and what’s the answer? 

Where do I send the cake? 🙂

Thanks very much for answering my questions and for appearing on my blog.

Thank you so much for having me, Janet. The questions were great and really made me think. It’s been great fun. Now, do I get that cake? 🙂

thumbnail_IMG_1859

You can find out more about Rebecca and her writing on her website.

About the book

thumbnail_dfw-rb-mtbb-cover-mid

“A rising death toll. A city in panic.

A young mother is found dead in her home with no obvious cause of death. As DI Hannah Robbins and her team investigate, it soon becomes clear that the woman is the first in a long line of murders by poison.

With the body count climbing, and the city of Nottingham in social meltdown, the team finds themselves in a deadly race against a serial killer determined to prove a point.

And Hannah finds herself targeting an individual with whom she has more in common than she could possibly know.”

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for having me on the blog, Janet, it was great fun to complete the Q&A! Some of those really made me think as well!

    Thanks again xx

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      Thanks so much for the great answers. I hope the book is doing well. I’m looking forward to reading it soon 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

