Diney Costeloe – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome Diney Costeloe to the blog. Diney is the author of The Throwaway Children, The Runaway Family, The Lost Soldier, The Sisters of St Croix and The Girl With No Name and her latest novel The Married Girls was published by Head of Zeus in ebook on 17 February 2017 and is out in hardback on 4 May 2017.

Diney kindly answered a few of my questions.

1. Tell us a little about The Married Girls.

The Married Girls is the sequel to The Girl With No Name. It is now 1949 and England is at peace, but the lives of those who had ,lived through the war, whether as combatants in the forces, or civilians in their homes, were changed forever. It carries on the story of Lisa/Charlotte, the Jewish refugee girl who had escaped from Germany on a Kindertransport train in 1939, into the post war years when she is living with her husband and children in the Somerset village that had given her refuge during the Blitz.

2. What inspired the book? 

I wrote it as a sequel because I wanted to know what happened to Charlotte and her family and friends when the war was over. The only way to find out was to write it down and see what happened.

3. Are you a plan, plan, plan writer or do you sit down and see where the words take you? 

I usually know where I’m going to start and where I’m going to finish, but though I have some idea of how I’m going to get from one to the other, things often change on the way as I get a better idea or refine what I had in mind. 

4. You have written a number of other novels prior to The Married Girls. Is there anything that still surprises you about the novel writing process?

When I am writing dialogue I’m very often surprised by something  a character might  say. Usually it is the next logical remark, the obvious riposte, but it may change the whole slant of the conversation. Then of course, I change what I had been expecting them to say and allow the conversation to flow of its own accord. This sometimes means that there have to be quite radical changes to what I had intended to write…and it is usually better for those changes. 

5. What do you do when you aren’t writing? What do you do to relax and get away from it all? 

I am an active grandmother with five grandchildren living nearby and I love being involved with them. My husband and I both play golf, together and separately and we both love to travel. When I’m writing a brisk walk helps clear my brain and gives me the impetus for the next bit.

6. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life which book would it be? 

Probably Pride and Prejudice, though if it were really the only book, I might get tired of it eventually.

7. I like to end my Q&A’s with the same question so here we go. During all the Q&As and interviews you’ve done what question have you not been asked that you wish had been asked – and what’s the answer? 

Do any of your children or grandchildren follow you in their ability to write?

The answer is yes and if they fulfill their potential I think I shall feel like Mozart’s father!

About the book:

“The war is over, but trouble is brewing…

Wynsdown, 1949. In the small Somerset village of Wynsdown, Charlotte Shepherd is happily married to farmer Billy. She arrived from Germany on the Kindertransport as a child during the war and now feels settled in her adopted home.

Meanwhile, the squire’s fighter pilot son, Felix, has returned to the village with a fiancée in tow. Daphne is beautiful, charming… and harbouring secrets. After meeting during the war, Felix knows some of Daphne’s past, but she has worked hard to conceal that which could unravel her carefully built life.

For Charlotte, too, a dangerous past is coming back in the shape of fellow refugee, bad boy Harry Black. Forever bound by their childhoods, Charlotte will always care for him, but Harry’s return disrupts the village quiet and it’s not long before gossip spreads.

The war may have ended, but for these girls, trouble is only just beginning.”

About the author:

Diney Costeloe is the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children, The Runaway Family, The Lost Soldier, The Sisters of St Croix and The Girl With No Name. She divides her time between Somerset and West Cork.

 

 

Leave a Reply

