Poppy Dolan – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome Poppy Dolan to the blog. Poppy is the author of The Bad Boyfriends Bootcamp, There’s More to Life than Cupcakes and are latest novel The Bluebell Bunting Society was published by Canelo in ebook on 27 March 2017

Poppy kindly answered a few of my questions.

1. Tell us a little about The Bluebell Bunting Society.   

I absolutely loved writing this book – the heroine Connie is maybe my favourite character to write so far! She’s really loyal and kind, and she moved home from a big city to help out when her beloved Gran died. Her Gran had been the caretaker of the local community hall and Connie steps into her shoes to continue running it. But when it’s threatened with closure, she needs more help to fend off developers and so pulls together a bunch of unlikely locals to form The Bluebell Bunting Society. And that’s when the fun really starts… 

2. What inspired the book?

I’m a big fan of anything crafty and I’ve made hundreds of metres of bunting over the years – I’ve sewn it, I’ve glued it, I’ve even knitted it! So I liked the idea of it being something that could bring people together at the heart of the story. 

3. Are you a plan, plan, plan writer or do you sit down and see where the words take you?

I’m a fanatical planner these days – I find it keeps the words flowing fast if I have a good, solid plan to follow. I work and have a family, so writing fast is of the essence! 

4. What have you discovered about the process of creating a novel that surprised you?

Being a writer can be a lot more sociable than you think. Yes, there are hours spent on your own, but if you’re pulling your hair out over a messy plot tangle or just feel the dreaded writers’ block descend, you can reach out to a writer buddy online for reassurance. I’ve made some great author mates just through Twitter alone and I never expected that!

5. What do you do when you aren’t writing? What do you do to relax and get away from it all?

As I mentioned, I love to craft. Anything that involves stitching things or gluing things – I’m there! And I’m also a big fan of baking, running and Netflix!

6. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life which book would it be?

Blimey! That’s a tough one. I can’t choose between Bridget Jones’ Diary and Pride and Prejudice, and as Bridget Jones is a modern version of Pride and Prejudice can I say both?! I love razor sharp wit with heart melting romance: so it doesn’t get better than these two classics. 

7. I like to end my Q&A’s with the same question so here we go. During all the Q&As and interviews you’ve done what question have you not been asked that you wish had been asked – and what’s the answer?

I would have liked to been asked about my favourite writing snack. And the answer is an Earl Grey tea with one of those Italian wafer biscuits that have a kind of Nutella in the middle. Yuuuuum.

About the book:

“When the going gets tough, the tough get sewing…

Welcome to Bluebell Hall. Pull up a wonky chair, grab a cream bun and settle into a story about a little village, a determined caretaker – and bunting…

At twenty-nine, Connie isn’t quite where she thought she’d be. When her beloved gran died Connie returned to Hazelhurst, the village she grew up in, and took over her gran’s old job as caretaker at the village hall. It might not be the stuff of dreams, but Connie loves working at Bluebell Hall – the heart of the community.

So when Bluebell Hall is threatened with closure, Connie is determined not to let greedy property developers get their hands on it. She hatches a plan bonkers enough that it just might work. All it takes is a needle and thread, scraps of old material and willing hands. Can Connie convince the people of Hazelhurst that their village hall is worth saving? And will she save herself in the process…?”

About the author:

Poppy Dolan lives in Berkshire with her husband. She’s a near-obsessive baker and a keen crafter, so on a typical weekend can be found moving between the haberdashery and kitchenware floors of a department store, adding to her birthday wish list. She has written three novels: The Bad Boyfriends Bootcamp, There’s More to Life than Cupcakes and most recently The Bluebell Bunting Society. The Bad Boyfriends Bootcamp made it into the Amazon top 100 bestseller chart, so clearly someone other than her mum must have read it. She’s currently working on her fourth novel – it’s about friends, siblings and crafty things – and drinking far too much tea.

Twitter @poppydwriter (and on Facebook at /PoppyDolanBooks)

Leave a Reply

