Graham Smith – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome Graham Smith to the blog. Graham is the author of four books to feature the Cumbria Major Crimes team. His latest novel Watching the Bodies,  the first in a new series to feature Jake Boulder, was published by Bloodhound Books on 18 April 2017.

Graham kindly answered a few of my questions.

1. Tell us a little about Watching the Bodies

Watching the Bodies is the first in a new series featuring an ex-Glaswegian called Jake Boulder. Boulder is working the door at a rock bar in Utah when he finds himself tracking a twisted killer who selects his next victim from the families of the people who find the bodies he’s dumped.

2. What inspired the book?

I came very close to a deal with a US publisher for my Harry Evans series. I was only turned down due to the marketing department saying they’d struggle to sell a UK set novel by a UK based author to a US market. Being the stubborn fool that I am, I decided to write a US set novel which is how Jake Boulder came to be conceived.  

3. How much research do you have to undertake when writing your novels? Do you plan all of the story or see where the words take you? 

I tend to write the story first and then fill in all the major research points afterwards as I don’t plan beyond knowing what the crime is, where the start should be and what the end of the novel should look like. Sometimes, I know a few waypoints, but I generally make it all up as I go along.

4. Your novels feature a whole new set of characters which are different from those of the Cumbria Major Crimes Team. What benefits are there to writing recurring characters and can they still surprise you?

I’m currently writing the third Jake Boulder novel and I love writing recurring characters, as I think of them as old friends. My characters surprise me all the time and I love the way they take hold of the story and do their own thing despite my best intentions to control them.

5. What do you do when you aren’t writing? What do you do to relax and get away from it all?

I have a day job as the general manager of a Gretna Green hotel and wedding venue so that keeps me very busy. When I’m not writing, I chill out with my son or pick up a good book. TV isn’t a big thing for me but I do like to watch football.

6. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life which book would it be?

I’d have to say that it would have to be a compendium edition by Alistair Maclean which would give me loads of great reads. (it may be rather heavy though.)

7. I like to end my Q&A’s with the same question so here we go. During all the Q&As and interviews you’ve done what question have you not been asked that you wish had been asked – and what’s the answer?

I’d love to be asked if I’ve been to the premiere of a blockbuster movie based on one of my books. The answer would be no at this moment in time but I’m willing to talk should someone from Hollywood call me.

About the book:

When Jake Boulder is asked by his PI friend to help investigate the vicious murder of Kira Niemeyer, he soon finds himself tracking a serial killer who selects his next victim in a most unusual manner.

As the body count rises, Boulder has to work with the police to identify the heinous killer before more lives are taken. What ensues is a twisted game of cat and mouse, that only Boulder or the Watcher can survive. But who will it be?

About the author:

Graham Smith is married with a young son. A time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since Christmas 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer and interviewer for the well-respected website Crimesquad.com since 2009

He is the author of four books featuring DI harry Evans and the Cumbrian Major Crimes Team.

Leave a Reply

