The journey to publication by Oliver Tidy – guest post

Today I’m pleased to welcome Oliver Tidy to the blog. Oliver is the author of sixteen novels including Dirty Business, A White Knuckle Christmas and Making a Killing, which were all self published. His latest novel Bad Sons was published by Bloodhound Books on 11 May 2017

Today Oliver tells us about the journey taken to publish Bad Sons.

Hello and thanks for having me. I’m very happy to have been asked to do a guest post to celebrate the publication by a proper publisher of my first book – Bad Sons (The First Booker and Cash Story).

Bad Sons isn’t the first book I’ve written but it is the first book to be taken on by a publisher, Bloodhound Books. To date I’ve written seventeen books. I’ve self-published them all and done well enough out of them to have given up the day job to write full time. I’m living the dream.

I started writing when I got a job teaching English as a foreign language to young Turkish learners in Istanbul about seven years ago. I ended up in Istanbul because I’d had enough of teaching in UK primary schools and fancied change.

I’ve always been a keen reader and book collector. I’d wanted to try writing for a while before I left the UK but could never find the time to write what with all the responsibilities and distractions that came with living in the UK. Moving to Turkey and taking an easy job in a private school provided me the time and opportunity to give writing a go.

Bad Sons was the sixth book I wrote. I began my writing career with my idea of a thriller. Then I wrote another in that series. Then I had an idea for a police procedural novel set in Dover, Kent, that has turned into a seven book series. After writing three of those I read The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler and simply loved his style of writing. I thought: I’m going to have a go at that and I did. Bad Sons was the result.

I finished the first draft in under two months – I had a day job at the time. It turned out to bear very little resemblance in writing style to Chandler (it’s harder than it looks to write that well) but I was quite satisfied with the result. My Booker and Cash series was born. There are three in the series now, all being published by Bloodhound, and a fourth in the pipeline.

What makes me particularly happy about having the Booker and Cash books, of all my books, picked up by a publisher is that they are the series that are closest to me and my life. They are set on Romney Marsh, a place where I was born and lived the first forty-five years of my life, a place I’m moving back to this summer. David Booker is a book lover. So am I.  He runs on Dymchurch beach and so do I. The building that David and Jo run their lives out of is a real building that I own. David was my father’s name. Cash is my mum’s maiden name and my dad used to call her Jo. (David Booker and Jo Cash are the two main characters in the series.) They are also the first books of mine that will be available in physical form. As a book lover and book collector it will give me a great thrill to actually get to hold a real copy of one of my books.

Thanks for reading and if you give the Booker and Cash stories a try I hope you find something in them to enjoy.

About the book:

David Booker returns to Romney Marsh on the south coast of England for a holiday. He is expecting to spend time helping his aunt and uncle pack up the stock of their second-hand bookshop in preparation for a happy retirement.
He arrives in Dymchurch on a miserable April night to find his relatives missing without word or clue regarding their whereabouts.
As events unravel, the outlook of the local police pushes Booker to search for his own answers to the questions surrounding his family’s disappearance. To unravel the mystery he will have to put himself in danger.
Will Booker find the answers he needs and make it out alive?

About the author:

Oliver Tidy was born and bred on Romney Marsh, Kent. After a fairly aimless foray into adulthood and a number of unfulfilling jobs he went back to education and qualified as a primary school teacher.

A few years of having the life sucked out of him in the classroom encouraged Oliver abroad to teach English as a foreign language. The lifestyle provided him the time and opportunity to try his hand at writing.
 
Oliver’s success as a self-published author has led to his Booker & Cash series of books, which are set mainly on Romney Marsh, being signed by Bloodhound Books.
 
Oliver is now back living on Romney Marsh and writing full time.
Leave a Reply

