Triona Scully – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome Triona Scully to the blog. Triona’s debut novel, Nailing Jess is published by Cranachan on 26 June 2017.

Triona kindly answered a few of my questions.

1. Tell us a little about Nailing Jess.

Nailing Jess is a crime novel but it is a satire. On the one hand, it is a fast paced, blood soaked thriller. On the other it is an absurd tale of the battle of the sexes. I’ve always loved crime novels and am as partial as the next reader to a corpse heavy plot. I’m also feminist and it’s often difficult to reconcile my morbid passion with the dis-empowering way women are often written about in crime, where they continue to be sexually objectified even after death, sometimes, especially after it. 

2. What inspired the book? 

Over my life, at many points, I have experienced injustice based on my sex. Some are burned into my memory, others I would struggle to recall, but they are there in every woman’s life, the by-products of a society that favours one sex at the expense of another. I wanted to explore those injustices, the huge ones like violence, rape and murder. The smaller ones like all the different titles we have for women and how men, we simply call ‘Mr’. Setting Nailing Jess in a matriarchy allowed me to tackle some of these issues in a way that’s very accessible. 

3. Are you a plan, plan, plan writer or do you sit down and see where the words take you?

I’m more of a free flow writer than a planner but crime, by definition, demands a lot of detail and a date-line. So, I think I’m a bit of both.

4. Nailing Jess is your debut novel. Is there anything about the process of creating a novel that surprised you?

How much time, effort, work and self-belief it takes. Also, how much work others put in to shaping your novel. As a writer, used to working alone, it’s quite awe inspiring to have other’s input. It’s also very intense, as there is a natural attachment to one’s own words, phrases and ideas. 

5. What do you do when you aren’t writing? What do you do to relax and get away from it all? 

I watch comedy with my son, Mikey. At the moment, we’ve just started season 3 of Fraiser, which is one of my all-time favourite comedies. There’s something magical about introducing something you love to someone you love, and watching them fall in love with it too.

6. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life which book would it be? 

I’d have to pick something I’d never read before, to at least to have the surprise factor once. Maybe ‘Ulysses’ by James Joyce. I tried to read it once and gave up about page five. Maybe, if it’s all I had to read for the rest of my life, I’d make more of an effort.

About the book

“What if Adam took the first bite?

Welcome to Withering, a small town with a big problem in the north of modern, matriarchal Britain. Here the women are in charge while the men hold the handbags.

There’s a serial strangler on the loose and the bodies of teenage boys are piling up on maverick D.C.I. Jane Wayne’s patch.

She needs to catch ‘The Withering Wringer’, but it’s not going to be easy. Demoted for her inappropriate behaviour, she must take orders from a man—and not just any man—an ugly menimist that refuses to shave.

Still, at least she can rely on her drug stash from a recent police raid to keep her sane…

Scully’s debut novel takes classic crime and turns it on its head, with a deliciously absurd comic twist.

The most shocking book you’ll read this year.”

About the author

Irish-born; lives in Edinburgh. Unapologetically apathetic. Likes long walks on the beach. Current affairs.

Fascinated by gender inequality. Crime shows. Netflix. Crime shows on Netflix. Reading. Writing.

Triona’s debut novel, Nailing Jess, takes classic crime and turns it on its head with a deliciously absurd comic twist.

@TScullyWriter

trionascully.com 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jess Athorn says:

    This book sounds perfect for me! Thanks for sharing this xx

    Like

    1. janetemson says:

      I hope you like it if you read it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

