#20BooksofSummer 2017 challenge – a round up

So the 2017 #20BooksofSummer challenge has ended. 20 books picked, to be read between 1 July and 3 September.

So how did I do?

Well I managed to read 20. Granted, they weren’t the 20 I originally planned to read, but never the less I mangaged to complete the challenge. And made a (very) small dint in the TBR as a result.

Some of the original ones I picked weren’t for me, some I just needed to read something from a different genre. For the last two books I read, I admit, I swopped them so that I could read 20 in the allotted time. I had started The Testament of Vida Tremayne but realised I wouldn’t finish it in time so swopped it for Agnes Grey. I will be reading the rest of the former soon.

So what did I manage to read.

I had a selection of titles. Some were ARCs received from publishers, some were copies I had purchased. They ranged from the 19th Century to a book that’s not out until 2018.

As I expected there were plenty of crime and thriller novels, from golden age crime to the modern thriller. Also, rather surprisingly, I had four novels that centered around grief and/or aging. Sprinkled in amongst the fiction were a couple of non fiction titles, including a book about a reading challenge, an opportunity I couldn’t miss. I even reviewed poetry for the first time. Some were quick reads, ones I read in a day, others took me considerably longer, for a variety of reasons.

So here is a list of what I read, in no particular order. Click on the titles to see my reviews.

1 Tin Man by Sarah Winman

2 Sparkling Cyanide by Agatha Christie

3 You, Me, Everything by Catherine Isaac – the only one I’ve not reviewed as it isn’t out until April next year.

4 A Summer at Sea by Katie Fforde

5 Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte

6 Innocence by Roald Dahl

7 Mrs Palfrey at the Claremont by Elizabeth Taylor

8 An Act of Silence by Colette McBeth

9 The Wages of Sin by Kaite Welsh

10 The Last Summer by Ricarda Huch

11 American Housewife by Helen Ellis

12 The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan

13 The Language of Coats by Deirdre Hines

14 Siren by Annemarie Neary

15 Death of a Nobody by Derek Farrell

16 The Year of Reading Dangerously by Andy Miller

17 Before Everything by Victoria Redel

18 The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 1/4 Years Old by Hendrik Groen

19 Death in the Tunnel  by Miles Burton

20 Only in Naples by Katherine Wilson

If you joined in the challenge, how did you do? Have you read any of the books on my list? If so, let me know what you thought of them.

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. And you managed to add a few to my TBR 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this is one of the most varied #20BooksofSummer lists I’ve seen. I hope you’re feeling a nice warm sense of achievement!

    Like

  3. Congrats Janet. Great achievement xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. MarinaSofia says:

    You did very well! (and I completely understand about the final list undergoing some modifications)

    Like

  5. Karen says:

    A very varied and interesting list. Congrats on completing the challenge Janet

    Like

Leave a Reply

