The Madwoman Upstairs by Catherine Lowell – review

Published by Quercus Publication date 20 April 2017 Source – review copy Think you know Charlotte, Emily & Anne? Think again. Samantha Whipple is the last remaining descendent of the illustrious Brontë family, of Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre fame. After losing her father, a brilliant author in his own right, it is up to…

A Secret Garden by Katie Fforde – Review

Published by Century Publication date – 22 February 2017 Source – library copy Romance, humour and happy-ever-after endings in Katie Fforde’s brand new novel for 2017. ‘What I want to know’, said Lorna, ‘is what lies behind those ash trees at the back of the garden? Lorna is a talented gardener and Philly is a…

Earthly Remains by Donna Leon – Review

Published by William Heinemann Publication date – 6 April 2017 Source – review copy During the interrogation of an entitled, arrogant man suspected of giving drugs to a young girl who then died, Commissario Guido Brunetti acts rashly, doing something he will quickly come to regret. In the aftermath, he begins to doubt his career…

Hells Gate by Laurent Gaudé – review

Published by Gallic Press Publication date – 10 April 2017 Source – review copy Translated by Emily Boyce and Jane Aitken What if death was not the end? A thrilling story of love, loss, revenge and redemption in Naples and beyond. When his son is killed by gangsters’ crossfire on his way to school, Neapolitan…

Quieter Than Killing by Sarah Hilary – review

Published by Headline Publication date – 9 March 2017 Source – review copy “It’s winter, the nights are dark and freezing, and a series of seemingly random assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out onto streets of London. When Marnie’s family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can…

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt – review

Published by Tinder Press Publication date – 2 May 2017 Source – review copy “When her father and step-mother are found brutally murdered on a summer morning in 1892, Lizzie Borden – thirty two years old and still living at home – immediately becomes a suspect. But after a notorious trial, she is found innocent,…

Killer Look by Linda Fairstein – review

Published by Sphere Publication date – 9 February 2017 Source – library copy “New York City is one of the fashion capitals of the world, well-known for its glamour and style. Yet high fashion means high stakes, as Alex Cooper quickly discovers when businessman and designer Wolf Savage is found dead in an apparent suicide,…

Lost for Words by Stephanie Butland – review

Published by – Bonnier Zaffre Publication date – 20 April 2017 Source – review copy “This bookshop keeps many secrets . . . Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday…

Heartbreak Hotel by Jonathan Kellerman – review

Published by Headline Publication date – 14 February 2017 Source – library “In Heartbreak Hotel by New York Times No.1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman, criminal psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware investigates the death of his most mysterious patient to date. Fans of Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben will revel in this knife-sharp storytelling from the master of…

Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski – review

Published by Orenda Books Publication date 15 March 2017 Source – own copy “1997. Scarclaw Fell. The body of teenager Tom Jeffries is found at an outward bound centre. Verdict? Misadventure. But not everyone is convinced. And the truth of what happened in the beautiful but eerie fell is locked in the memories of the…

Cursed by Thomas Enger – review

Published by – Orenda Books Publication date – 15 February 2017 Source – review copy “When Hedda Hellberg fails to return from a retreat in Italy, where she has been grieving for her recently dead father, her husband discovers that his wife’s life is tangled in mystery. Hedda never left Oslo, the retreat has no…

Purged by Peter Laws – review

Published by – Allison and Busby Publication date – 16 February 2017 Source – review copy “Matt Hunter lost his faith a long time ago. Formerly a minister, now a professor of sociology, he’s writing a book that debunks the Christian faith while assisting the police with religiously motivated crimes. On holiday with his family in…