See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt – review

Published by Tinder Press Publication date – 2 May 2017 Source – review copy “When her father and step-mother are found brutally murdered on a summer morning in 1892, Lizzie Borden – thirty two years old and still living at home – immediately becomes a suspect. But after a notorious trial, she is found innocent,…

Killer Look by Linda Fairstein – review

Published by Sphere Publication date – 9 February Source – library copy “New York City is one of the fashion capitals of the world, well-known for its glamour and style. Yet high fashion means high stakes, as Alex Cooper quickly discovers when businessman and designer Wolf Savage is found dead in an apparent suicide, days…

Lost for Words by Stephanie Butland – review

Published by – Bonnier Zaffre Publication date – 20 April 2017 Source – review copy “This bookshop keeps many secrets . . . Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday…

Heartbreak Hotel by Jonathan Kellerman – review

Published by Headline Publication date – 14 February 2017 Source – library “In Heartbreak Hotel by New York Times No.1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman, criminal psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware investigates the death of his most mysterious patient to date. Fans of Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben will revel in this knife-sharp storytelling from the master of…

Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski – review

Published by Orenda Books Publication date 15 March 2017 Source – own copy “1997. Scarclaw Fell. The body of teenager Tom Jeffries is found at an outward bound centre. Verdict? Misadventure. But not everyone is convinced. And the truth of what happened in the beautiful but eerie fell is locked in the memories of the…

Cursed by Thomas Enger – review

Published by – Orenda Books Publication date – 15 February 2017 Source – review copy “When Hedda Hellberg fails to return from a retreat in Italy, where she has been grieving for her recently dead father, her husband discovers that his wife’s life is tangled in mystery. Hedda never left Oslo, the retreat has no…

Purged by Peter Laws – review

Published by – Allison and Busby Publication date – 16 February 2017 Source – review copy “Matt Hunter lost his faith a long time ago. Formerly a minister, now a professor of sociology, he’s writing a book that debunks the Christian faith while assisting the police with religiously motivated crimes. On holiday with his family in…

The Language of Dying by Sarah Pinborough – review

Published by Jo Fletcher Books Publication date – 1 December 2016 Source – review copy “Tonight is a special terrible night. A woman sits at her father’s bedside, watching the clock tick away the last hours of his life. Her brothers and sisters – all broken, their bonds fragile – have been there for the…

Rupture by Ragnar Jónasson – review

Published by Orenda Books Publication date – 15 January 2017 Source – review copy Translated by Quentin Bates “1955. Two young couples move to the uninhabited, isolated fjord of Hedinsfjörður. Their stay ends abruptly when one of the women meets her death in mysterious circumstances. The case is never solved. Fifty years later an old…

Echoes in Death by J.D. Robb – review

Published by Piatkus Publication date – 7 February 2017 Source – review copy “New York at night. A young woman stumbles out on to a busy street – right in front of Lieutenant Eve Dallas and husband Roarke. Her name is Daphne Strazza, and she has been brutally assaulted. Confused and traumatised, she manages to…

A Deadly Thaw by Sarah Ward – review

Published by Faber and Faber Publication date – 2 February 2017 Source – review copy “Autumn 2004 In Bampton, Derbyshire, Lena Fisher is arrested for suffocating her husband, Andrew. Spring 2016 A year after Lena’s release from prison, Andrew is found dead in a disused mortuary. Who was the man Lena killed twelve years ago,…

Deep Down Dead by Steph Broadribb – review

Published by Orenda Books Publication date 5 January 2017 Source – review copy “Lori Anderson is as tough as they come, managing to keep her career as a fearless Florida bounty hunter separate from her role as single mother to nine-year-old Dakota, who suffers from leukaemia. But when the hospital bills start to rack up,…